City Council


The City Council is the legislative body, responsible for creating/adopting ordinances (the laws, penalties and fee schedules), tax abatements, preparing ordinances fixing the rate of taxation for the city budget, and hearing issues raised by the city administration and their constituents.  Meetings are held on the first and third Monday of each month at 6:30pm in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located at 227 North Main Street (3rd floor).  The Mayor presides over the meetings and in the event of a tie would cast the tie-breaking vote.  Meetings that fall on a city holiday are held on the following Tuesday.

As Ambassadors for the City of New Castle, Council members often serve as representatives on intergovernmental boards, commissions, and committees.  They also make appointments to various advisory boards, commissions, and committees.

The New Castle Common Council (City Council) is composed of seven members, including five ward representatives and two at-large representatives.  All seats are elected to four-year terms.  The current term began on January 1, 2016.  There are no term limits.

Council Committees


Budget & Salary

Cemetery & Parks

Lynn Perdue-Chair
Jeff Hancock
Mark Koger
All seven members
Council Members
serve on this committee
Mike Guffey-Chair
Aaron Dicken
Rex Peckinpaugh   

Economic Development

Public Works & Safety

Traffic / Parking

Rex Peckinpaugh-Chair
Lynn Perdue
Mark Koger
Aaron Dicken-Chair
Jerry Walden
Mike Guffey
Jeff Hancock-Chair
Jerry Walden
Aaron Dicken 

Special Issues

Water & Sewage

Tax Abatement 

Mark Koger-Chair
Rex Peckinpaugh
Lynn Perdue 
Jerry Walden-Chair
Mike Guffey
Jeff Hancock
Mark Koger
Lynn Perdue
Aaron Dicken

Additional Resources

  • Agendas
  • Minutes
  • News
  • Meetings

Contact Us

Mark Koger,
City Council - Ward 5
New Castle Municipal Building
227 N Main St
New Castle, IN 47362
Get Directions
  • Staff Directory

In This Department

Topics of Interest

More Information